Red Cup Day!

05Nov09

Was yesterday, I know. But I only got my first one of the season this morning due to an abortive trip to Starbucks last night, ten minutes before it was supposed to close, and the dude wouldn’t make me a coffee. Blanchardstown Centre branch, I’m glaring at you.

Anyone who knows me knows I love Christmas. It’s the one time of year I get presents (due to my horrible Christmas Eve birthday, thanks for nothing parents), I love cold weather, I love shopping, I love it I love it I love it. I love it so much that I have to ration myself, lest I go completely Christmas mental for two whole months of the year.

Measures include: a moratorium on watching the film Love Actually, except between the 8th of December and the 10th of January; no Christmas music until December, no Christmas shopping until December, no buying wrapping paper of any sort until all my Christmas shopping is done, no festive spirit of any kind allowed.

Starbucks Christmas drinks are my one exception to this rule. They’ve become part of the reason I love Autumn/Winter so much in Ireland. There’s nothing better than wandering to the bus or Dart or Luas, mittens on, red cup in hand, being warmed from the inside by a spicy-sweet drink.

Oh, Gingerbread Latte – I want to have your babies. Little gingerbread ones. Sigh.

No Responses Yet to “Red Cup Day!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

