Review: Lovehoney Multispeed Super Smoothie 7 Inch Vibrator

27Sep12

They don’t fuck around with the names on these things, do they? I guess it doesn’t help that this is about as basic as it gets – a rigid, classic, one-motor vibrator with no frills or special jazz – and so they need to distinguish it from every other plain ol’ vibe out there.

But it’s precisely this simplicity that makes the Super Smoothie my favouritest and most used toy ever. I bought this as a replacement for my now-dead Inch Perfect – a truly novelty vibrator that I won from Lovehoney years back for some blog comp or other. The Inch Perfect was plain and simple too, except it had a little ruler on one side, and the hilarious/slightly gross motto “How Deep is your Love?” on the other.


I wasn’t expecting much from ye olde Inch Perfect, but there were a few things about it that helped it claim its place at the top of my sex toy list – and sent me looking for an identical one when it finally gave out. A quick hunt around the classic vibrators section pointed me to the Super Smoothie, and looking at the details I decided it was pretty much the same vibrator. Once it arrived and I got it out of the box, I could tell I was right. Hurrah!

So what is it that makes the Super Smoothie my go-to toy? I immediately liked the speed dial – this is where the Super Smoothie gets its “Multispeed” accreditation. It starts off soft & slow, and ramps up to a nicely intense speed. The vibrations are deep, not buzzy, and don’t travel down the shaft. Perfection for a constant-vibration junkie like me! I don’t like most of the on/off patterns that come with most ‘multispeed’ vibes, but I do like being able to vary the intensity of a constant vibration.

The second best thing about the Super Smoothie is that it’s smooth and hard (aw yeah!). It has a velvety feel, but it’s plastic, not silicone. That means no sticky fluffiness! But it also avoids that cold, slippery plastic-y feel of most classic vibes.


It comes in two colours, red and purple, thankfully avoiding the dreaded pink. It takes two AA batteries which slide in very simply, and the screw cap fits nice and snug to make it water resistant. There is still a groove around that battery cap, so I wouldn’t leave it lying in the bath or anything… but it could  certainly withstand a quick dip, or even frequent use in the shower.

And for €12 you can’t really go wrong. This bog-standard toy gets reached for almost every time we have sex, and for solo sessions too. Money very well spent.

No Responses Yet to “Review: Lovehoney Multispeed Super Smoothie 7 Inch Vibrator”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

